school matters visd principals

Every October, principals are celebrated nationwide through National Principals Month, a collaboration between the National Association of Elementary School Principals (NAESP), the National Association of Secondary Principals (NASSP), and the American Federation of School Administrators (AFSA). 

This month of recognition was established to honor school principals’ leadership and contributions towards the success and well-being of their students. During this month, students, teachers, school staff, elected officials, parents, and district leaders have the opportunity to show their appreciation for their school leaders. At VISD, we are endlessly proud of our incredible principals who lead their school communities toward genius every day.

The past two and a half years have been a new challenge for those in education, yet principals nationwide have risen to the occasion by working to ensure not only the academic success of their students, but also their health and safety and the health and safety of their staff.

On a daily basis, VISD principals embody our Leadership Definition by connecting to, growing in and reaching for genius. Their commitment to serving our students and moving them toward the achievement of their “&” ensures all students have a strong foundation of learning and are ready for success beyond high school. Through ongoing coaching and modeling, principals in VISD support staff to create a shared future for students, staff, families and the Victoria community.

 Victoria ISD is proud to celebrate our campus principals not only during the month of October but also throughout the year.

 Sharla Williams, Early Childhood Center at F.W. Gross

Kristina Hurley, Aloe Elementary School

Melanie Steed, Chandler Elementary School

Yasmina St. Jean, Crain Elementary School

Jennifer McIntyre, DeLeon Elementary School

Michelle Sturm, Dudley Elementary School

Leandra Hill, Hopkins Elementary School

Mandi Prichard, Mission Valley Elementary School

Ericka Barr, O’Connor ACE Elementary School

Kimberly Martinez, Rowland Elementary School

Elizabeth Chandler, Schorlemmer Elementary School

Kelly Gabrysch, Shields Elementary School

Tiffany Absher, Smith STEM Academy

Crystal Rice, Torres Elementary School

Troy White, Vickers Elementary School

Jill Lau, Cade Middle School

Jo Beth Jones, Howell Middle School

Larry Rodriguez, Patti Welder Middle School

Denise Moreno, STEM Middle School

Larry Cantu, Stroman Middle School

Dena Justice, Career & Technology Institute

Justin Gabrysch, Victoria East High School

Tonya Patterson, Victoria East High School

Tedrick Valentine, VISD Success Academy


THANK YOU to VISD principals for your continued dedication to our community. You make us VISD Proud!

 Ashley Scott is the executive director of Communications and Public Relations for Victoria ISD.